The Walgett Shire covers an area of 22,000.00 sq km and has a population of approximately 7,199 and includes the towns of Walgett, Lightning Ridge, Burren Junction, Collarenebri, Carinda, Come-By-Chance, Cumborah, Grawin Glengarry & Sheepyard Opal Fields, Rowena and Pokataroo. Walgettt Shire Council operates within a legislative framework established by the New South Wales Parliament.

The Local Government Act 1993 sets out major power, functions and responsibilities of Council. As well as the Act, there are a number of other laws that Council is responsible for enforcing. If you need to contact the council, please click our Contact Us button.

The Walgett Shire Council administration office is located at 77 Fox Street, Walgett.
Council is opened from 8.30am to 4.30pm, Monday to Friday (excluding Public Holidays).

Phone: (02) 6828 6100