Australia Day

2023 Walgett Shire Australia Day Awards
A huge congratulations to the recipients of the Australia Day 2023 Awards. The Lightning Ridge Bowling Club was the venue for this year’s Australia Day breakfast and Awards ceremony with over one hundred and fifty people applauding the twenty nominees Council received this year, showcasing our Shires amazing individuals and groups.


Attendees to the event were treated to an appetising breakfast while our Australia Day Ambassador, Mr John Wearne AM met and socialised with the crowd and nominees.
Proceedings began with MC for event, Mr George McCormick opening the morning, welcoming all and thanking Council staff and the Bowling club staff in assisting to ensure the Awards ceremony would be a success.
Local Elder Aunty Brenda McBride, supported by youth representative Ms Jada Seaton conducted the welcome to country acknowledging the Yuwaalaraay people, Elders, Traditional Custodians and First People of the land its waterways and the continuing spiritual connection to the land on which the ceremony took place. Mayor Jane Keir OAM welcomed all and spoke of the importance of recognising the many that do good things consistently across our vast Shire and then introduced our Australia Day Ambassador for this year Mr. John Wearne AM.


Mr Wearne spoke of his excitement and connection to the Shire having visited several times previously and congratulated all the nominees for their commitment, support of fellow man and love for our beautiful country, Australia!
This year, twenty nominations were received across the following award categories: Health Professional of the Year, Community Event of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Senior Citizen of the Year and Citizen of the Year.


HEALTH PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR AWARD: Nominations were Ms Sue Jenkins, Ms Cody Hatch and Mr Robert Martinez
The winner of the Walgett Shire 2023 Australia Day Health Professional Award was: Ms. Cody Hatch.


COMMUNITY EVENT OF THE YEAR 2023 - Nominations were Walgett Jockey Club - Cameron Murray & Committee, Collarenebri Central School Secondary Students, Walgett SES and Lightning Ridge Easter Festival
The winner of the Walgett Shire 2023 Australia Day Community Event of the Year is the: Lightning Ridge Easter Festival


VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR - Nominations were Mr Garry Trindall, Mr Jasen Ramien, Pastor George Fergusion and Ms Tina Lawerance
The winner of the Walgett Shire 2023 Australia Day Volunteer of the Year Award is: Mr. Jasen Ramien


YOUNG CITIZEN OF THE YEAR - Nominations were Ms. Grace McBride and Ms. Felicity Forbes

The winner of the Walgett Shire 2023 Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year Award is: Ms. Grace McBride


SENIOR CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD - Nominations were Mrs Robin Pearson and Mr Garry Trindall 

The winner of the Walgett Shire 2023 Australia Day Senior Citizen of the Year Award is:  Mr. Garry Trindall


CITIZEN OF THE YEAR - Nominations were Mrs Jenny McKenzie, Ms Tina Lawerence, Mr Frank Wright, Mrs Christine Ford, Ms Jo Coleman, Mr Jasen Ramien

Walgett Shire Council Citizen of the Year for 2023 is:  Ms. Tina Lawrence


Mayor Keir OAM, congratulated all nominees and asked all to stand, applaud and recognize our community champions, celebrate our winners, the individuals and groups that make our Shire what it is.
She thanked the judging panel, who kindly donated their time to assist with the difficult task of selecting successful nominees for the Australia Day Awards.
Council congratulates all the nominees and those who nominate and encourage many to get involved in these awards and contribute to acknowledging those in our community who continuously go above and beyond for others. Mayor Keir closed the day’s ceremony and thanked all for attendance.


The organisers of the event want to make special mention to the LRDBC staff and Council staff for the huge efforts in making the day such a special event for all.
Aussie Day 2023 Pool Parties at all pools within the Shire where offered to residents and visitors following the ceremony. This year the highest number ever for Australia Day events was recorded with over 600 people across the communities within the Shire participating and engaging in what the Shires community and youth development teams delivered.
A tremendous series of events, an enjoyable and memorable day for all. Congratulations to all our 2023 Australia Day Award winners and congratulations to our communities for your involvement.
A huge congratulations to all!
Further information please contact
Mr George McCormick - 0439024902 or
Ms Sharon Smith - 02) 6828 6112 or


May be an image of 1 person and standingMay be an image of 2 people and people standing

May be an image of 3 people and people standingMay be an image of 4 people and people standing


May be an image of 5 people and people standing